New Pieces of Art

In my last post i had said i was feeling fairly stuck about what to do with myself and my sketchbook and i haven’t posted anything since. Since that post i have managed to do some work.

My son was asleep in my bed, he was poorly and i didn’t want to leave him on his own so i did a few quick sketches. Inspired by my book; Drawn To Stitch, i decided to transform my sketch into a piece of textile art:

textile bed

 

I took this photo off my instagram page so its not very clear but this is the start of my new sketchbook.

Ive just recently started a new job one day a week at a famous painting school in St Ives. Its very inspiring and overlooks the beach. Today i started experimenting with painting on to fabric with no idea of where it was going to take me. I’ve found the colours i’ve used remind me of St Ives and i love the outcome. i’ve decided not to stick these in my sketchbook but to frame them.

DIGITAL CAMERA

About Canvas & Thread

Im an artist and I live in a cottage in Cornwall. I'm studying an Art & Design Degree and I have exhibited my work in London and Cornwall. View all posts by Canvas & Thread

6 responses to “New Pieces of Art

  • Bunny

    Oh, that’s charming. So, there really is a St. Ives?

    • Canvas & Thread

      Yes, did you think it was a myth? Google it, its a beautiful place :)

      • Bunny

        Oh, it’s in Cornwall? Fantastic, I’ve been thinking about visiting Cornwall. What’s it like there around Christmas?

      • Canvas & Thread

        Christmas is lovely. In Truro there is a parade before switching on the lights, 1000′s of people turn up. Lanterns parade thru the town too and I did it last year, its called Truro city of lights. At the eden project they have iceskating and mousehole near Penzance have a light switch on which is apparently really nice but I’ve never been. There’s lots of places that do farmers markets and make up christmas hampers, there’s always lots going on and the pubs are always cosy with some lovely meals to choose from :)

  • hannah

    Lovely, calm colours in the last photo. I really love the one of your son in your bed though as I said on Instagram. Really nice x

I Love Comments!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,184 other followers

